Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.


Office of Planning

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

2019 Awards Program Honors the Best of Historic Preservation

Thursday, May 9, 2019

(Washington, DC) – The District of Columbia Historic Preservation Office, part of the Office of Planning, in partnership with the DC Preservation League and the Daughters of the American Revolution, presented the District of Columbia Awards for Excellence in Historic Preservation at DAR Constitution Hall on the evening of Wednesday, May 8. 

Since 2003, the District government has honored over 235 outstanding projects, programs and individuals for exemplary work and commitment to historic preservation in Washington, DC. This year’s awards recognize 38 individuals, businesses, government agencies and local organizations. 

This year’s awards are presented in the categories of Volunteerism and Community Involvement, Archaeology, Education, Design and Construction, State Historic Preservation Officer’s Award, HPRB Chair’s Award, and Individual Lifetime Achievement Award.   

2019 Awards and Awardees

Volunteerism and Community Involvement

Bloomingdale Historic Designation Coalition
Joseph Levesque; Betsy McDaniel; Patricia Ellis Mitchell; James Myers; Scott Roberts


Moxy Hotel, Washington, DC, 1011 K Street NW
Douglas Development Corporation; EHT Traceries; Stantec


Mapping Segregation in Washington DC
Prologue DC, LLC – Mara Cherkasky; Prologue DC, LLC – Sarah Shoenfeld

Design and Construction

Patterson House, 15 Dupont Circle NW
Hartman-Cox Architects; Saul Urban & Rooney Properties; Manhattan Construction

The Bell Tower at Stanton Park, 609 Maryland Avenue NE
Morningstar Community Development, LLC; MCN Build, Inc.; Cooper Carry Architects

The Sanctuary, 819 D Street NE
Bonstra|Haresign ARCHITECTS; The Rubin Group; Cumberland Stained Glass

The Mission Apartments, 1350 R Street NW
Eric Colbert & Associates PC; EHT Traceries; Alturas Real Estate Interests, LLC; McCullough Construction 

Uline Arena, 1140 3rd Street NE
Antunovich Associates; Douglas Development Corporation; James G. Davis Construction Corporation; EHT Traceries 

State Historic Preservation Officer’s Award

700PENN, 700 Pennsylvania Avenue SE
Esocoff & Associates/Weinstein Studio + Gensler; McCullough Construction; Clark Construction Group, LLC; EastBanc; Stanton Development 

HPRB Chair’s Award

Modernization of the Duke Ellington School of the Arts, 3500 R Street NW
cox graae + spack architects - design architects for the LBA-CGS Joint Venture; DC Department of General Services; McKissack & McKissack; GCS|SIGAL; EHT Traceries

Individual Lifetime Achievement Award

Robert C. Sonderman  


For more information about the 2019 Awards for Excellence in Historic Preservation visit