Office of Planning

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Preservation Awards

Ethiopian Orthodox Tewahedo Congregation 2015 Awardee

Since 2003, the Historic Preservation Office has sponsored the District of Columbia Awards for Excellence in Historic Preservation. These awards honor outstanding preservation projects and exceptional contributions by individuals and organizations in support of historic preservation in the District.

2017 Awards Program

This year’s program  was  presented on Tuesday, May 23rd at the historic DAR Constitution Hall.  Built in 1929, Constitution Hall, a monumental Neoclassical building, hosts a variety of events including concerts, speakers, films, graduations, and programs including the Preservation Awards.

Cosponsored by the Historic Preservation Office, the DC Preservation League, and Daughters of the American Revolution, the awards celebrated preservation excellence in design and construction, community involvement, and stewardship. Honorees also included recipients of the State Historic Preservation Officer’s Award, HBRB Chair’s Award, and the Individual Lifetime Achievement Award.

View Awardee Videos

View Program Photographs

2017 Awards Print Program


The 2017 preservation awards reception was generously supported by the following donors:

Landmark Partner
Douglas Development Corporation

Capstone Partners
Antunovich Associates
Ashkenazy Acquisition
Atlantic Refinishing and Restoration, Inc.
EHT Traceries
McCullough Construction, L.L.C.

Keystone Partners
Beyer Blinder Belle Architects & Planners LLP
Bonstra│Haresign ARCHITECTS
Chapman Development
Clark Construction Group, LLC
Eric Colbert & Associates, PC
Dentons US LLP
Kindy French & Emanuel Friedman/Friedman-French Foundation
Emanuel J. Friedman Philanthropies
Gould Property Company
Quinn Evans Architects
Roadside Development
The Whiting-Turner Contracting Company
Winmar Construction

Cornerstone Partners
Forest City Washington
Hartman-Cox Architects

Presidents's Circle
The Christman Company
David M. Schwarz Architects
Grossberg, Yochelson, Fox & Beyda, LLP
Grunley Construction Company, Inc.
Potomac Construction Services

Individual Partners
J. James Braeu


Hosted by:
District of Columbia Office of Planning/Historic Preservation Office
DC Preservation League
Daughters of the American Revolution


Future Programs:

In 2015, the awards program moved to a biennial schedule. The next competition will take place in 2019.  Please send an email and we will notify you when the awards application is available.


Visit Past Awards Programs