Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.


Office of Planning

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

2015 Awards Program Honors the Best of Historic Preservation

Friday, May 8, 2015
SHPO David Maloney (left), Gretchen Pfaehler, HPRB Chair (center right), and John Sandor, President of the DC Preservaiton League, presented the Individual Lifetime Achievement Award to Sally Lichtenstein Berk

(Washington, DC) On Wednesday May 6, the District of Columbia Historic Preservation Office, part of the Office of Planning, presented the winners of the 2015 Annual Awards for Excellence in Historic Preservation at the DAR Constitution Hall. Sponsored in partnership with the DC Preservation League and the Daughters of the American Revolution, the event drew a crowd of over 500 preservationists, community activists, ANC commissioners and developers. The evening of honors was followed by a celebratory reception in the grand lobbies of the historic Constitution Hall.

“Since 2003, the District government has honored over 200 outstanding projects, programs and individuals for exemplary work and commitment to historic preservation in Washington, DC. This year’s awards recognize 44 individuals, businesses, District agencies and local organizations,” noted David Maloney, State Historic Preservation Officer.

This year’s awards were presented in the categories of Public and Private Stewardship, Community Service, Creating Housing through Preservation, Innovative Design and Adaptation and Lifetime Achievement. The HPO congratulates the 2015 award recipients:

Public and Private Stewardship

Northeast Neighborhood Library, 330 7th Street, NE
District of Columbia Public Library; BELL Architects; Vines Architecture, Inc.; Whiting-Turner Contracting Company (Design and Construction)

Clara Barton Apartment and Missing Soldiers Office, 437 7th Street, NW
US General Services Administration; National Museum of Civil War Medicine; OLBN, Inc.; Mills + Schnoering Architects, LLC; Andrea G. Mones, AIC, Building Knowledge; EverGreene Architectural Arts; Oak Grove Restoration Company; Daniel W. Mattausch, American Gaslight Gallery/Upton Studios; Conservation Solutions Inc. (Design and Construction)

Belmont Mansion–Eastern Star International Headquarters, 1618 New Hampshire Avenue, NW
The General Grand Chapter of the Order of the Eastern Star; Wagner Roofing; Collins Elevator Service, Inc.; Paul Dolinsky (Stewardship)

Community Service

Thomas W. Bower (Volunteerism and Community Involvement)

Mr. Charles H. LeeDecker (Archaeology)

A Grand Avenue Revival: Massachusetts Avenue - Landscape History and Design Guide
Restore Mass Avenue; Cutting Edge Design; Gill Fishman Associates   (Education)

Creative Housing Through Preservation

House of Lebanon/Margaret Murray Washington School, 27 O Street, NW
Mission First Housing Group; UrbanMatters Development Partners; Mount Lebanon Community DC;
Cunningham|Quill Architects; EHT Traceries;  Hamel Builders, Inc. (Design and Construction)

The L’Enfant Trust Historic Properties Redevelopment Program
Board of Trustees: Carol B. Goldman, President; Stephen P. Goldman, Trustee Emeritus; Charles F. Auster, Trustee Emeritus; Lane H. Potkin, Chairman; Gregory Y. Lubar,  Mary Carolyn Brown, Jennifer Fowler, AIA, Preuit H. Rauser,  Sarah Burner, Carrie Dike; Lauren Oswalt McHale, Executive Director (State Historic Preservation Officer’s Award)

Innovative Design and Adaptation

Mekane Hiwot Medhane Alem Ethiopian Orthodox Tewahedo Church/Old Engine Company 26,
Langdon Firehouse, 2715 22nd Street, NE
Mekane Hiwot Medhane Alem Ethiopian Orthodox Tewahedo Church; Benyam Zerihun, Designer; 4A Contracting Services LLC (Design and Construction)

Nash Residence, 330 Adolf Cluss Court, SE
Carl E. Nash and Undine A. Nash; Nelson Architects; Asset Construction Services (Design and Construction)

The George Washington University Museum / The Textile Museum, 701 21st Street, NW
The George Washington University; The Textile Museum; Hartman-Cox Architects; Tishman Construction – An AECOM Company (Design and Construction)

R.I.S.E. Demonstration Center, 2730 Martin Luther King Jr. Avenue, SE
Saint Elizabeths East, DC Office of the Deputy Mayor for Planning and Economic Development;
Cunningham|Quill Architects; DC Department of General Services (HPRB Chair Award)

Individual Lifetime Achievement Award

Sally Lichtenstein Berk 

Photos and Award Videos of the 2015 event are also posted on the Office of Planning Website.

Contact:  Bruce Yarnall (OP/HPO) Phone: (202) 442-8835; email: [email protected]