Office of Planning

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Mayor Vincent C. Gray and HPO Honor Boasberg and Preservation Projects

Saturday, June 23, 2012
District Officials Honor Excellence in Historic Preservation at June 21 program
Mayor Gray presenting an award

On Thursday, June 21st, Mayor Vincent C. Gray and the DC. Office of Planning’s (OP) Historic Preservation Office presented the winners of the Ninth Annual Awards for Excellence in Historic Preservation at the Sixth & I Historic Synagogue. OP partnered with the DC. Preservation League on this event.

“We honor accomplishments in historic preservation with these awards because good preservation is good for the District of Columbia,” said Mayor Gray. “Properly done, historic preservation adds not only to our quality of life, but also to our economic well-being and long-term appeal as a beautiful, historic and well-preserved city full of aesthetic and cultural treasures.”

Since 2003, the DC. government has honored over 100 outstanding projects, programs and individuals for exemplary work and commitment to historic preservation in the District.  A total of 55 individuals, businesses, District agencies and local organizations were recognized this year.

Awardees include affordable housing projects, the restoration of the Old Naval Hospital on Capitol Hill, the renovations of Eastern and Woodrow Wilson High Schools and the extensive restoration of the Georgetown Neighborhood Library from its devastating 2007 fire.  The award-winning projects represent an investment of $272.5 million in historic districts and landmarks in the District.

Highlighting the event was Mayor Gray’s presentation of the Individual Lifetime Achievement Award to Tersh Boasberg.  Mr. Boasberg is a longtime advocate and champion of preservation in the District and served as chair of the Historic Preservation Review Board from 2000 to 2010.

“Historic preservation strengthens this city’s unique character while helping it to grow and prosper in a way that respects and enriches what we already have,” said OP Director Harriet Tregoning.

Complete List of 2012 Awards for Excellence in Historic Preservation:

Affordable Housing

  • Fort View Apartments, 6000-6050 13th Place NW; Hubbard Place 3500 14th Street NW; Webster Gardens, 124-130 Webster Street NW: Somerset Development Company, LLC; THC Affordable Housing, Inc.; Hamel Commercial; EHT Traceries; EDG Architects; PGN Architects; KANN Partners
  • Euclid Apartments, 1740 Euclid Street NW; Sorrento Apartments, 2233 18th Street NW:
  • Jubilee Housing Corporation; Goulston & Storrs; Hickok Cole Architects; MMD Construction Management; Ellisdale Construction


  • Georgetown Neighborhood Library, 3260 R Street NW: Martinez+Johnson Architecture PC; Smoot Construction; Hoshide Wanzer Williams Architects PLLC;  EHT Traceries, Inc.; John J. Christie & Associates PC; DC. Public Library; Jerry McCoy


  • Tudor Place Historic House and Garden Archaeology Project, 1644 31st Street NW:
  • Tudor Place Historic House and Garden/Tudor Place Foundation, Inc.; Dovetail Cultural  Resource Group


  • Martin Luther King Jr. Memorial Library Design Guidelines, 901 G Street NW:
  • DC. Public Library; EHT Traceries; MLK Design Guidelines Committee

Design and Construction

  • 1724 Park Road NW: Newton Street Development; DB Architecture; BJC Companies; Everyday Green; R.W. Kibler, Inc.; WashingtonFirst Bank
  • Bread for the City, 1525 7th Street NW: Wiebenson and Dorman Architects PC; Bread for the City; S3E Klingemann, Inc.; JGK Structural Engineers; Heller & Metzger, PC; Turner Construction Company
  • DC. War Memorial, National Mall: Forrester Construction Company; National Park Service- National Mall and Memorial Parks; Hord Coplan Macht; Oehrlein  & Associates; Lorton Stone, LLC
  • Residences at St. Monica’s, 1342 Massachusetts Avenue SE: Community Three Development; O’Neill and Associates Architects

Historic Preservation Review Board Chairman’s Award

  • The Hill Center at Old Naval Hospital, 921 Pennsylvania Avenue SE and Friends of Old Naval Hospital: Friends of Old Naval Hospital; BELL Architects, PC; Old Naval Hospital Foundation; Regan Associates, LLC; The Whiting-Turner  Contracting Company; Robert Silman Associates; Grotheer & Company; Nixon Peabody LLP; Oehme, van Sweden &  Associates, Landscape Architects

Historic Preservation Review Board Chairman’s Award for Law and Public Policy

  • Richard B. Nettler—DC.-based attorney whose practice focuses on land use and historic preservation issues
  • Dr. Gail S. Lowe—Senior Historian, Anacostia Community Museum/Smithsonian Institution and former member of the District of Columbia Historic Preservation Review Board

State Historic Preservation Officer’s Award

  • Eastern Senior High School, 1700 East Capitol Street NE and Woodrow Wilson High School, 2950 Chesapeake Street NW: Allen Lew, City Administrator & former Director, Office of Public Education Facilities Management; DC. Department of General Services; DC. Partners for the Revitalization of Education Projects, LLC – McKissack & McKissack and Brailsford & Dunlavey, Inc.
  • Eastern Senior High School: Fanning Howey; cox graae+spack architects; Turner Construction Company
  • Woodrow Wilson Senior High School: cox graae+spack architects; Fanning Howey; ReStl  Designers; GCS-Sigal, LLC

Individual Lifetime Achievement

  • Tersh Boasberg, Esq.

Honorable Mention: Design and Construction

  • Battleground National Cemetery, 6625 Georgia Avenue NW: National Park Service – Rock Creek Park
  • The Phillips Collection, 1600 21st Street NW: The Phillips Collection
  • Room and Board, 1840 14th Street NW: Eric Colbert & Associates, PC.
  • Cleveland Park Walgreens, 3524 Connecticut Avenue NW: Rust Orling Architecture