Office of Planning

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

DC Historic Preservation Office Accepts Nominations for Annual Awards for Excellence

Friday, February 5, 2010

(Washington, DC) The D.C. Historic Preservation Office (DCHPO) is accepting nominations for the Eighth Annual District of Columbia Awards for Excellence in Historic Preservation. The 2010 awards program, slated for November, will honor significant contributions by individuals, organizations and businesses promoting historic preservation in the District of Columbia. Award categories include:

Archaeology:  Recognition of outstanding achievements in contributing to the understanding of the past through archaeology.

Advocacy and Community Involvement:  Recognition of individuals, volunteers, or organizations involved in neighborhood preservation issues, plans, projects or initiatives.

Design and Construction:  Recognition of exceptional design work in restoration, rehabilitation, and/or new construction affecting a landmark or property in a historic district.  Projects of all sizes and levels of complexity are encouraged.  Projects must be completed to be eligible.

Education:  Recognition of innovative and exceptional educational programs, curricula, or informational tools that focus on preservation and history.  Outstanding media coverage by reporters, writers, publishers and publications are also eligible.

Stewardship:  Recognition of efforts on behalf of a significant resource listed on the D.C. Inventory of Historic Sites or the National Register of Historic Places that exemplifies superior stewardship and preservation.

Lifetime Achievement:  Recognition of an individual who has made significant, long-term (20+ years) contributions to the preservation of Washington’s architectural and cultural resources.