Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.


Office of Planning

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Awards Program Moves to National Preservation Month

Monday, June 6, 2011
Nominations for the 9th annual District of Columbia Awards for Historic Preservation program slated for May 2012 will be accepted through October 14, 2011

(Washington, DC) June 6, 2011 - Since 1971 citizens have celebrated and honored historic preservation efforts throughout the United States during the month of May. The DC Historic Preservation Office joins the national celebration with its sponsorship of the 9th annual District of Columbia Awards for Excellence in Historic Preservation program to be held on May 7, 2012. The awards recognize individuals, initiatives, and completed projects in the following categories:

Archaeology: Recognition of outstanding achievements in contributing to the understanding of the past through archaeology.

Advocacy and Community Involvement: Recognition of individuals, volunteers, or organizations involved in neighborhood preservation issues, plans, projects or initiatives.

Design and Construction: Recognition of exceptional design work in restoration, rehabilitation, and/or new construction affecting a landmark or property in a historic district. Projects of all sizes and levels of complexity are encouraged. Submissions may be submitted for residential, commercial, public or institutional categories work. Projects must have been completed within the past three years to be eligible.

Education: Recognition of innovative and exceptional preservation educational programs, curricula, or informational tools that focus on preservation and history. Outstanding media coverage of preservation issues by reporters, writers, publishers and publications are also eligible.

Stewardship: Recognition of efforts on behalf of a significant historic resource listed in the DC. Inventory of Historic Sites or the National Register of Historic Places that exemplifies superior stewardship and preservation.

Lifetime Achievement: Recognition of an individual who has made significant, long-term (20+ years) contributions to the preservation of Washington’s architectural and cultural resources.

Nomination forms are due no later than October 14, 2011, and may be obtained by contacting Bruce Yarnall at (202) 442-8835 or [email protected].