Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.


Office of Planning

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Matthew Bell, FAIA FCNU

Mr. Matthew Bell, FAIA, serves as an Architect Member of the Historic Preservation Review Board. 

Matthew Bell is Professor of Architecture at the University of Maryland and Principal at Perkins Eastman in Washington, DC.  Bell has been active throughout the Washington/Baltimore region with projects ranging from waterfronts, new towns and neighborhoods to residential projects, civic and mixed-use buildings and schools.  He has served as president of the Neighborhood Design Center in Baltimore and Prince George's County, Maryland, and from 1994 to 1999 was the Director of the Northeast Mayor's Institute for City Design.  His work has been exhibited at the Triennale di Milano and he has served as a juror for the Biennale of Venice (Italy).  Bell’s graduate students have won awards from the AIA, the CNU and the Urban Land Institute/Gerald Hines Urban Design and Development Competition.  Recent projects with Perkins Eastman include: master plans for the new town of Crown, MD; the Barcroft community in Northern Virginia; and the McMillan site in DC; Dunbar High School (DC); the new Dining Commons at Catholic University; Cleveland Park Library (DC); Collection 14 (DC); and campus master plans for George Washington University and American University, both in Washington, DC.

Bell is a Fellow of the American Institute of Architects and a Fellow of the Congress for the New Urbanism.  His work has received national and local recognition from the AIA and awards as well from the ACSA, the CNU, the USGBC, the ASLA, the Committee of 100 for the Federal City, and the Urban Land Institute.  In 2020 he was appointed by Mayor Muriel Bowser to the Historic Preservation Review Board in Washington, DC.  Bell has degrees in Architecture and Urban Design from the University of Notre Dame and Cornell University.


Mr. Bell was appointed in 2020 and reappointed in 2022. His current term ends on July 21, 2025.