Office of Planning

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Preservation Awards

Ethiopian Orthodox Tewahedo Congregation 2015 Awardee

Since 2003, the Historic Preservation Office has sponsored the District of Columbia Awards for Excellence in Historic Preservation. These awards honor outstanding preservation projects and exceptional contributions by individuals and organizations in support of historic preservation in the District. 

The DC Preservation League accepted nominations for the next awards program planned for May 2020 through November 22,  2019. Information regarding the nomination process is outlined on the organization's website.

The most recent awards were presented in the categories of Volunteerism and Community Involvement, Archaeology, Education, Design and Construction, State Historic Preservation Officer’s Award, HPRB Chair's Award, and Individual Lifetime Achievement Award.   

2019 Awards and Awardees

Volunteerism and Community Involvement

Bloomingdale Historic Designation Coalition
Joseph Levesque; Betsy McDaniel; Patricia Ellis Mitchell; James Myers; Scott Roberts


Moxy Hotel, Washington, DC, 1011 K Street NW
Douglas Development Corporation; EHT Traceries; Stantec


Mapping Segregation in Washington DC
Prologue DC, LLC – Mara Cherkasky; Prologue DC, LLC – Sarah Shoenfeld

Design and Construction

Patterson House, 15 Dupont Circle NW
Hartman-Cox Architects; Saul Urban & Rooney Properties; Manhattan Construction

The Bell Tower at Stanton Park, 609 Maryland Avenue NE
Morningstar Community Development, LLC; MCN Build, Inc.; Cooper Carry Architects

The Sanctuary, 819 D Street NE
Bonstra|Haresign ARCHITECTS; The Rubin Group; Cumberland Stained Glass

The Mission Apartments, 1350 R Street NW
Eric Colbert & Associates PC; EHT Traceries; Alturas Real Estate Interests, LLC; McCullough Construction 

Uline Arena, 1140 3rd Street NE
Antunovich Associates; Douglas Development Corporation; James G. Davis Construction Corporation; EHT Traceries 

State Historic Preservation Officer’s Award

700PENN, 700 Pennsylvania Avenue SE
Esocoff & Associates/Weinstein Studio + Gensler; McCullough Construction; Clark Construction Group, LLC; EastBanc; Stanton Development 

HPRB Chair's Award

Modernization of the Duke Ellington School of the Arts, 3500 R Street NW
cox graae + spack architects - design architects for the LBA-CGS Joint Venture; DC Department of General Services; McKissack & McKissack; GCS|SIGAL; EHT Traceries

Individual Lifetime Achievement Award

Robert C. Sonderman  


View Awardee Videos

View Event Photos

2019 Awards Program


The 2019 preservation awards reception was generously supported by the following:

Landmark Partner – Douglas Development Corporation

Capstone Partners –  Antunovich Associates│ Atlantic Refinishing and Restoration, Inc. │ Beyer Blinder Belle Architects & Planners LLP │  Bonstra│ Haresign ARCHITECTS │Dentons US LLP | EHT Traceries | KCE Structural Engineers

Keystone Partners –   Bank of America Merrill Lynch │ Clark Construction Group, LLC│ Quinn Evans Architects│ Roadside Development | Saul Urban LLC

Cornerstone Partners –  Fay Armstrong | Amy Ballard |  Howard Berger | Eric Colbert & Associates PC | Direct Dimensions │ EastBanc │ GCS-SIGAL │ Hartman-Cox Architects │Madison Marquette | Morningstar Community Development | Shalom Baranes Associates │Simpson Gumpertz & Heger| Wagner Roofing Company | Juliet Zucker, Long & Foster Real Estate

President's Circle  –  BELL Architects, PC | Boston Properties | DAVIS Construction | John DeFerrari and Susan Decker |ECS Mid-Atlantic | EYP Architecture & Engineering | Federal City Caterers, Inc. | Fivesquares Development |Sarajane Foster | Grossberg, Yochelson, Fox & Beyda, LLP | Grunley Construction Company, Inc. | Holland & Knight | David M. Schwarz Architects | SJG Properties | James A. Smailes | SmithGroup | Stantec Consulting Services, Inc.

Individual Sponsors   –  David Haresign, FAIA and Patricia Haresign |Betsy McDaniel | Donald Beekman Myer, FAIA and Ellen Myer | Darwina Neal, FASLA | Michael Singer | Charles and Helen Wilkes | Evelyn & Bob Wrin


Visit Past Awards Programs